Monday, December 10, 2007

12/10/2007 post

"Christmas 1984" picture

Christmas was always such a fun time for our family. We had fun traditions. One was we would all sleep in the same room christmas eve. We would wake up usually around 4am and my parents would make us wait till like 6. So we had a couple hours to talk about what we thought we were getting, all the excitement was almost too much so we would crack open the door and send Tyler to go peek downstairs and then run back in and tell us what he saw. Sneaky kids I know!! I have wonderful memories of every Christmas growing up.
Also I remember one christmas we got a trampoline, just to later find out my mom and dad putting it together christmas eve in the rain. The thought of that makes me crack up every time i think about it!
Another great memory was one christmas my parents decided to give some families money and just to leave it on the door step and run. I think I was like 10 that year and my dad said I could go with him. I was so nervous and excited. The whole time walking up to the door my dad was saying "Lynds, as soon as I ring the door bell you have to run AS FAST AS YOU CAN , okay" I was like ok... so he rang the door bell and my little legs have never gone so fast! I remember for every stride my dad took was like 3 of mine. Good times. My parents were always very giving! They are great examples of service! Thanks mom and dad for all you did for us growing up!!

Monday, December 3, 2007

12/3/2007


-1999-
Our first Christmas was only like a month and a half after we got married.

So the funny story- So again it was our first Christmas and we were newly newlyweds and I was so excited to open our gifts!! I was thinking jewelry or something like that. Christmas morning we go to open all our gifts and Brian saved the "BIG" one for last. I was so excited!! I was taking the paper off and kept looking at him smiling, then my smile turned to a "what the crap" look. He got me a BREAD MAKER!! What, seriously. ya. Some might think that was nice but as an 18 year old newlywed making bread was the last thing I wanted to do. Anyways I started crying and he felt horrible and then I felt like a spoiled brat(which i was way back then).

It is now our 9th Christmas together and to this day he has not bought me any house hold appliances as a gift. I even asked for a dust buster this year and he laughed. So i bought myself one and it is wrapped under our tree right now:)
BUT.... he did learn and since then I have never ever been disappointed about any gift he has given me and actually have LOVED every gift since!!